Baking Brown Rice

I have already mentioned that I big puffy heart Alton Brown of the Food Network, so when I saw him baking brown rice to perfection, I just had to try it. Mind you this was also a few years ago, when the only brown rice that I ate and actually enjoyed was from a local chinese take out restaurant. I figured I didn’t have anything to lose, so I went online for the recipe and gave it a whirl.

I could not believe how easy it was to prepare and that it came out perfect on the very first try. I had been converted. The taste and texture was so much better than any of the instant varieties I had previously tried. Score one for Mommy and big Kudos to Alton Brown!

So without further adieu, here’s the 411.

Baked Brown Rice
Prep Time: 5 min
Cook Time: 1 hr 5 min

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups brown rice, medium or short grain
  • 2 1/2 cups water
  • 1 tablespoon unsalted butter
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt

DirectionsPreheat the oven to 375 degrees F.
Place the rice into an 8-inch square glass baking dish.
Bring the water, butter, and salt just to a boil in a kettle or covered saucepan.
Once the water boils, pour it over the rice, stir to combine
Cover the dish tightly with heavy-duty aluminum foil. Bake on the middle rack of the oven for 1 hour.
After 1 hour, remove cover and fluff the rice with a fork. Serve immediately.

************************

I have been using this recipe for years, and over time I have modified it slightly for my family’s taste and needs.

First, I use a 10X15 baking dish and double the ingredients. This way I get extra rice to freeze for later. Gotta love the “less work for a healthy side” for a mid week meal.

Second, I use olive oil instead of butter and add garlic powder with the sea salt. I love my garlic!

Third, I add my oil, garlic powder and salt all the the bottom of the baking dish and then add the boiling water.

Fourth, I add the rice and whisk everything together.

Finally, cover with the heavy duty foil and slide into the preheated oven. Easy peasy!

One extra tip I will pass on too. DH was not originally a fan of brown rice. It tends to be pretty bland.

Here is where I got creative.

I used the original 8×8 recipe but added a pack of McCormick Slow Cookers Italian Herb Chicken Seasoning to the rice. DH is a big italian food fan, so I knew the flavor profile would appeal to him.

After baking, the rice had a wonderful flavor that DH could tolerate enjoy. I have also used taco, fajita and pesto seasonings. The list is really endless to create a flavor your family will like.

Does your family enjoy brown rice? Do you have a favorite seasoning you would like to share?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kelly
    Mar 09, 2011 @ 09:04:48

    I must try this. I also bake my bacon – have you tried that!? Comes out like perfection. So many things you can use the oven for that I’ve never thought of. Next time I have brown rice I will be calling you. And I LOVEEE Alton Brown!

    Reply

    • KP
      Mar 09, 2011 @ 11:17:17

      I do bake bacon! Not sure many ppl know you can do that and it turns out great! May be a future post! Thanks for sharing!

      Reply

  2. Ann
    Mar 09, 2011 @ 10:33:20

    We are big fans of brown rice here…it’s a way for us to eat healthier. My kids really don’t know anything different and they are pretty willing to go along with my tweaks to their diet. I use a rice cooker when cooking my brown rice. I started this in Hawaii (rice cookers are a kitchen essential there) and progressed to a bigger one as our family grew. I have used a similar formula to your baked version, but sometimes add minced onions, peas, or whatever else strikes me. I always choose the “white rice” setting even though brown rice takes longer…don’t know why, but that is the perfect setting for our rice.

    Another dish I do with the rice cooker makes a spanish style rice – add a can of chopped tomatoes, garlic, cilantro (I get mine in the frozen section of trader joe’s) and some tomato paste with italian or greek seasonings. Stir before and then after and it makes a great side dish or taco filler for Mexican night.

    Reply

    • KP
      Mar 09, 2011 @ 11:19:55

      It’s funny, Ann. I have a rice cooker and have never used it. I may just have to give it a try. Your spanish style sounds like something we would like too. I need to break out more into the fresh/frozen herbs. They add such wonderful depth to a dish.

      Reply

  3. Ann
    Mar 09, 2011 @ 10:34:07

    PS: Thanks for the baking method. That’s a new one to me and I can’t wait to try it!

    Reply

  4. The Atlanta Go To Girl
    Mar 09, 2011 @ 21:50:49

    My husband is a big fan of brown rice, wheat pasta and all that! I’m glad you shared a trick to spice up the taste..what I usually do is add stock instead of water when I’m cooking…I’ve never really tried baking rice unless i am baking a meat dish..I’ll let you know how I do with your recipe!

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Quick & Easy Pork and Vegetables « In the Kitchen with KP…
  6. Trackback: Broccoli Chicken Stir-Fry « In the Kitchen with KP…

Leave a comment