Things I Have Learned From Severe Tonsilitis

You may have noticed the lack of activity here lately. I’ve been under the weather for a while with a severe case of tonsilitis, but can happily say I am finally on the mend. It seems somewhere along the line I was taking for granted the simple act of swallowing my own saliva without it feeling like a million stabbing knives to the throat. {Insert dripping sarcasm reading tone}

So because I can, I decided to share a few learnings with y’all so you could benefit from my god-forsaken suffering new found enlightenment. Everything is connected in your mouth. Now of course this is obvious with all the same color going on in there, but I warn you, just because a single tonsil is swollen, doesn’t mean other things won’t hurt too.

  • A infected tonsil can resemble a gray and black storm cloud
  • Sneezing with a severely swollen tonsil will drop you to your knees in pain
  • A round of antibiotics will eventually cause itching no matter how much yogurt you eat
  • Cough syrup with codeine may taste like crap but the dreams that result are pretty cool
  • My husband is much too squeamish to take a picture of an infected tonsil but he makes a mean cup ‘ o soup.

In a nut shell talking, eating, drinking, all add to the initial tonsil pain.
So do yourself a favor…just ask for someone to knock you unconscious for a few days.
A single blow to the head would be far less painful in my opinion.

When was the last time you were so sick it knocked you out a few days?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Richard Monroe
    Jan 29, 2012 @ 11:55:08

    I’m just getting over a double ear infection and boy was it painful. I feel your pain and annoyance sister. Like you, I would have loved to have been out cold for four or five days than go through this. Pain is mostly gone, but I still can’t hear much at all. Glad you are on the mend.

    Reply

    • KP
      Jan 29, 2012 @ 13:30:55

      I thought I had an ear infection too, but was told it was clear and pain was just radiating to my ear. Worst pain ever. Glad you are getting better too. Still, I would rather be sick over one of my kids any day.

      Glad you are feeling better too!

      Reply

  2. Jessica
    Jan 30, 2012 @ 08:30:59

    Sounds miserable and I feel your pain! I’ve been fighting pneumonia for a few weeks and it has been pure agony. Forget ab exercises, the coughing was so intense that every single ounce of my body ached. At one point, I even thought I broke a few ribs! Couple all that with hardly any sleep (every time I lay down I cough non-stop and vomit) and I have just been a barrel of fun! LOL! Thank GOD I started feeling human again because my family was COMPLETELY over me.

    I hope you are feeling better!

    Reply

    • KP
      Jan 30, 2012 @ 08:38:26

      Ironic so many parents are sicker than their kids this season. Good and bad I guess. So glad you are feeling better too, Jessica!

      Reply

  3. Ann at Mundane Magic
    Jan 30, 2012 @ 12:59:53

    I thought you had been rather quiet lately…oh my goodness that sounds like a germ party happening in your head! So sorry you are having to deal with this. Add align probiotics – the heavy duty kind – to your shopping list for that itching issue. Maybe it would help.

    By the way, you said “Y’ALL” and punctuated it correctly. I knew we were rubbing off on you!

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Two, Three Punch – Project #Flawless12 « In the Kitchen with KP…

Leave a comment